Meet the Cats

Standard

Because this blog is named 2 Cats and a Kitchen it would be remiss if the cats were not introduced as one of the first orders of business.

DSC07269

This is Tchaikovsky, or Tchai for short. My college roommate and I adopted her in January of 2005.  I fell in love with the teeny baby as soon as she gave each of me my first head snuggle.

Tchai is a very calming influence in our home (and as you can see not so teeny anymore). She likes to lounge about with my boyfriend and me. She is an independent sort of lap cat, she wants to decide when she’d like to sit on you and she’ll leave if she feels the least bit snuggled. She is also very fond of sitting in boxes or pairs of our shoes. I always feel like I have a sweet silent supporter in Tchai.

DSC07267

Zelda on the other hand is a lively hyper rascal. She was adopted about 18 months ago when she was between 2 and 3 years old. When we selected her name, I was under the impression she was named for F. Scott Fitzgerald’s wife. My boyfriend however, just told me that was the case so he could name her after the video game princess.

Zelda is smaller and slighter than her adopted sister and where Tchai can be rather Zen, Zelda is more of a troublemaker. She likes to make her presence known in the house by scratching couches and whining at 5:30 AM. We have had to adjust by using our guest room as cat holding area at night and covering the couches in foil, but Zelda is so cute that she doesn’t belong anywhere else in the world.

Tchai was an only child for several years and I was afraid she would never take to her little sister. There was a long adjustment period but both cats seem to be very fond of each other now. Every day I come home from work and I find them lying on the bed napping together.  I catch Tchai trying to groom and mother Zelda once or twice a week. Zelda seems to be happy to have a playmate (though Tchai is a super lazy one).  I kind of can’t imagine one cat without the other now.

DSC07310

So there you have it, our feline introductions. OH! Before I sign off I should introduce to the other member of the 2 cats household.

Chris and I at Walt Disney World

Chris and I at Walt Disney World

This is Chris, my boyfriend. He is the resident photographer and additional taste tester around here (I wish I could convince him to be the dishwasher too!). We adopted each other 4 years ago. He’s kind of a picky eater, which can sometimes be frustrating but over time we’ve been expanding his palate. I am glad to have his opinions and his help on my internet adventure.

Leave a Reply

