2 Cats Recipe: Homemade Taco Seasoning

Standard

Taco Seasoning

Tacos, Yummy yummy Tacos

Tacos, Yummy yummy Tacos

I have a few go-to recipes in my repertoire for nights when a delicious home cooked meal is needed but not one that’s fancy. We are pretty big fans of Mexican food, especially Chris, so I make tacos with our own taco seasoning at least once every two weeks. Originally, I was buying those all-in-one taco kits from the grocery store. Once we started making them so often however, I began to look for ways to make taco night a little less expensive and more flavorful.

I started making my own taco seasoning blend at that point. This way, I can control what types of spices go in the seasoning mix and save money at the same time. I like a taco that smoky with a little heat and not too much salt. Cumin, paprika and oregano are main players in my seasoning mix. I make a good amount of seasoning at a time, it usually lasts a little over 1 month or 3 uses.

The Completed Taco Seasoning

The Completed Taco Seasoning

The seasoning goes well with any sort of meat we’ve tried. My favorite so far has been ground turkey tacos. Chris is a fan of the traditional beef. We haven’t tried ground pork or shrimp yet, but I can’t see those being bad in any way. For nights when I’m in a vegetarian mood, I add the seasoning to a can of black beans and load up the tacos. This is one of the only vegetarian meals I can offer Chris without any complaints.

I like that taco night is one of personal choice. The perfect taco for me is a soft flour tortilla with meat, cheese, black beans, lettuce, a little red onion, salsa, sour cream, and a drop of sriracha. Chris’s ideal taco is a crunchy corn shell with meat, cheese, and sometimes maybe a little lettuce. Ah, the differences between genders…

His and Hers Tacos, guess which one is which?

His and Hers Tacos, guess which one is which?

Please feel free to use my recipe for taco seasoning and let me know what you think!

Taco Seasoning
2 Tablespoons Chili Powder              
½ Teaspoon Dried Oregano
½ Teaspoon Garlic Powder                
1 Teaspoon Paprika
½ Teaspoon Red Chili Flakes          
1 Teaspoon Salt (Kosher)
3 Teaspoons Ground Cumin            
1 ½ Teaspoon Black Pepper
-Mix together all ingredients and store in an airtight container. When ready to use, use 1-2 tablespoons per pound of meat or can of beans. 
Leave a Reply

