Recipe Review: A Batch of Cumber-cookies

Standard

Sugar Cookies

From Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

Sherlock and Dr. Watson cookies

Sherlock and Dr. Watson cookies

                I have a small obsession with the BBC television series Sherlock. I stumbled upon it around three or four years ago thanks to Netflix.

BBC Sherlock

BBC Sherlock

I was instantly blown away by the writing and the performances of Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch as Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes. I think I’ve watched “A Scandal of Belgravia” at least 20 times; I idolize Lara Pulver’s Irene Adler and would kill for her wardrobe. And Cumberbatch…oh Cumberbatch…. He has the voice of a jaguar, the eyes of an angel , and his goofy little smile…*sigh*

Via the Huffington Post. Isn't he dreamy?

Via the Huffington Post. Isn’t he dreamy?

Ok, anyway, most of my friends know of my love for Sherlock and support me in my habit. For my 30th birthday last week I received two gifts relating to the “high functioning sociopath”. Chris gave me the Sherlock version of Cluedo, which can only be purchased from Great Britain (have I mentioned that Chris is awesome lately?). My friend Natalie gifted me with 3 Sherlock themed cookie cutters found on Etsy. I decided I would use these cookie cutters as soon as I could and make sugar cookies.

                Several cookbooks I own have sugar cookie recipes but most called for an odd ingredient I didn’t have or have enough of in house. This Martha Stewart Baking Handbook recipe was straight forward and required no shopping. It does include 4 sticks of butter, so if you were looking for a less caloric recipe, you might wanna skip this one.

                A note to readers, the sugar cookie recipe I’ve found on Martha’s website is not the one found in her baking cookbook, I am not sure how different the one on the web is, sorry!

                The sugar cookie dough took fifteen minutes at most to mix, roll out, wrap in plastic, and stick in the refrigerator. I ended up rolling out cookies the next morning.

a Cumbercookie

a Cumbercookie

The recipe states that the dough should be a ¼ inch thick, which I figured I could easily eyeball. After transferring my first batch to the baking sheet, I put a ruler on my shopping list. I suggest you may want to do the same if you don’t already have one. While I’m giving advice, I also recommend lots of flour on your work surface, rolling pin, and cookie cutters. Flour is a big help in making sure your cookie cutter details don’t get ruined when you try to remove the cutter from the dough. I also suggest an offset spatula to move the cookies to the baking sheet. If you don’t have that kind of spatula be prepared for some malformed doors and a few Sherlocks with eyes missing. Somehow my Watson cookies didn’t suffer from any injury or deformity. I find this funny, given John’s limp in the first episode.

Perfect Dr. Watson Cookie

Perfect Dr. Watson Cookie

Deformed Sherlock....

Deformed Sherlock….

                My cookie batch (hee hee) baked in less time than the recipe describes. It took more like 12 to 13 minutes, not 15. The cookies are simple, sweet, and buttery, which is exactly what I hope for in this type of cookie and Chris also seemed to be a really big fan. The recipe suggests icing the cookies, but I couldn’t wait that long to take a bite out of Mr. Cumberbatch (though licking icing off his face does sound appealing. I might try icing the next set I bake; I still have a good amount of dough in my fridge. But for now, I think I will re-watch “The Empty Hearse” and look into the case of the missing sugar cookies.

My first baking sheet of Baker street. I think I was starting to get the hang of it

My first baking sheet of Baker street. I think I was starting to get the hang of it

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review: A Batch of Cumber-cookies

  1. I recommend parchment paper! Has changed my life – baking-wise, anyway. 🙂 It keeps cookies from sticking and Pam makes cookies spread. I feel like I’ve mastered the sugar cookie now and it’s all thanks to that marvelous invention.

    Like

  2. Lauren,
    It wasn’t the baking sheet that was the problem, it was the cutting then moving to the baking sheet. Do you put parchment under the dough as you roll it out? I was afraid that wouldn’t work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

