Recipe Review: Chicken and Dumplings

Standard

Chicken and Dumplings

From Eat at Home

http://eatathomecooks.com/2009/07/homemade-chicken-and-dumplings-its-easy-really.html

chicken and dumplings served up

chicken and dumplings served up

When I’m blogging I usually let the occasion or what sounds yummy dictate the recipe I choose. This time, I was a little stumped on which direction to go. I asked Chris for his opinion on what I should make for the blog. “Something good”, he replied. When I pressed him to elaborate, he shrugged. “I don’t know…comfort food, something Southern and something I’d like”.

What Chris and I find comforting are two totally different things. I like things such as fettuccine alfredo, pad thai, and chicken tikka masala. Chris finds comfort in Campbell’s chicken noodle soup, meatloaf, and mashed potatoes smothered in gravy. We both can (for the most part) appreciate the other’s comfort cravings, but what speaks to the soul for one doesn’t translate for the other. One of the things I know that soothes Chris is the very southern chicken and dumplings, so I decided I would make it for him.

The ingredients for the comfort food extravaganza

The ingredients for the comfort food extravaganza

This chicken and dumplings recipe from the blog Eat at Home is very straight forward. I suggest using leftover cooked chicken if you have it. Otherwise save yourself the hassle and buy a rotisserie bird to shred. To me part of this recipe’s appeal is the simplicity (AKA: quick cooking time). If you really want to roast your own bird and let it cool, go right ahead. Just be prepared to add a few hours to your prep-time.

shredded rotisserie chicken

shredded rotisserie chicken

the rolled out dumplings, before they go into the pot

the rolled out dumplings, before they go into the pot

The dumplings themselves couldn’t be easier. They’re flour, baking powder, milk, and salt. I added ground pepper to the dough because I find the dumplings too bland without it. Actually, I season the recipe the whole way through. This includes the dumplings, cooking liquid, and one final time before I serve. I also think a dash or two of hot sauce would be fantastic, though I’ve yet to try it.

the dumplings starting to simmer

the dumplings starting to simmer

The recipe states that the dumplings cook in 15-20 minutes. I’ve found that getting them fully cooked actually takes about 25-30 minutes plus it gives the sauce more time to thicken. I mix in my shredded chicken three minutes before I serve so that everything can get all saucy together.

the dumplings just before serving

the dumplings just before serving

Once completed and bowled out, I think chicken and dumplings resembles mod-podge or clumpy grade school glue; but don’t be alarmed by its unappealing appearance. This recipe is meaty, silky, creamy and comforting.  Chris loved it; he had two bowls that night and asked to take it for lunch the next day. When he requests leftovers from the night before, I know it’s a success.

Yes, I needed to add some green

Yes, I needed to add some green

I don’t have cravings for Chicken and dumplings like Chris does but I do enjoy a bowl from time to time. It’s the kind of meal that suits a rainy movie night or a weekend where you’re recovering from a cold. I’d also recommend this recipe for college students who need a good southern meal, cold or not. I also think it’s good for those times when you need to comfort a boyfriend from North Carolina… and it’s a lot nicer than heating up a can of Campbell’s chicken noodle.

This is so much better than Campbells

This is so much better than Campbells

Leave a Reply

