Recipe Review: Rosemary Cake

Standard

Rosemary Cake

Rosemary Cake Plated

Rosemary Cake Plated

From Nigella Lawson’s How to be a Domestic Goddess

                As last week came to a close the weather became rather dreary. This rendered most of the 2 Cats household extremely lethargic (except for Chris, who started binge watching Game of Thrones). I decided Saturday afternoon to counteract my lazy behavior by baking.

Sleepy/Lazy Zelda

Sleepy/Lazy Zelda

                I’m a huge fan of British T.V. Cook and Domestic Diva Nigella Lawson. I have 3 of her cookbooks and I’ve watched several of her programs (including The Taste). I really admire her unapologetic style as a home cook who has a great love affair with food. I hope to be more like her as I progress through my culinary life. I found the recipe for her Rosemary Cake in How to be a Domestic Goddess intriguing and thought this was the perfect time to give it a go.

My rosemary plant

My rosemary plant

                On a somewhat unrelated note, this gives me the opportunity to show off my herb garden! Up until this year I’ve done a very poor job at keeping plants alive for longer than a month. I think that this time I chose non-finicky herbs, got good advice from a friend who has an urban farm, and just stuck to watering every day and pruning when I was supposed to. I’ve had only two causalities so far (they were both flowers that were gifts) Well actually, two and a half…I have one chive plant that is a favorite of Tchai and Zelda… they snack on it whenever I’m not looking. Anyway, I’m really pleased with my little garden and it gives me hope that maybe my thumb has a tinge of green. Now I’ve just got to keep them alive through the winter.

Part of my herb garden. From Left to Right: Catnip, Purple Basil, Rosemary, Citronella, Chives

Part of my herb garden. From Left to Right: Catnip, Purple Basil, Rosemary, Citronella, Chives

                The rosemary cake recipe calls for 1 cup of butter and l only 1 and 2/3 cups of flour, which seemed like odd proportions for something that resembles a pound cake. The batter was quick to mix together in the stand mixer and turn out into the loaf pan. I made a little mix brown sugar and finely minced rosemary to top with cake with before popping it in the oven.

DSC08675

The cake ingredients

The cake cooks in less than an hour, which gave me plenty of time to wash the dishes and browse a little on Pinterest. Once the cake comes out of the oven it needs to cool to room temperature. Don’t rush this and serve it warm otherwise you’ll be disappointed.  The egg-yness of the loaf cake will be way too much and you’ll be waiting for the cake to cool down anyway.

The cake and rosemary brown sugar pre-oven

The cake and rosemary brown sugar pre-oven

The Rosemary Cake out of the oven

The Rosemary Cake out of the oven

The rosemary flavor in the cake was actually really lovely. I like the herbaceous hint against the sugary/super buttery cake batter. I do feel like the recipe, could use another ½ cup or so of cake flour, otherwise the cake taste too much of egg (even when completely cooled). Overall, I would call the recipe a disappointing miss. I may try and tinker with the proportions at some point, but for now I think it’s back to lethargy…and maybe Game of Thrones.

Still sleeeepy

Still sleeeepy

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Rosemary Cake

  1. Tweak,Tweak, Tweak again. You’re doing fine. Nigella’s a master! Rosemary is so fragrant=I love the herb. My herb garden is large and doing well. Had a bumper crop pf mint. Now on to the tomatoes, up to my elbows in them!!! Tomato sauce/marinara canned already. Watch the cats and plants some are poisonous! I keep Tyler (my kitty) totally away from my screened-in porch that houses the herbs and houseplants-it is a jungle I tell you! Kitty is too cute!!! Your TK Friend. Cheryl.

    Like

  2. Thanks Cheryl! As you can see, I don’t have a lot of room for a big garden with our house, but I am hoping to expand some next year. I purposely didn’t grow mint because I don’t use it that much,

    Like

Leave a Reply

