Recipe Review: Parmesan Dill Potato Salad

Standard

Parmesan Dill Potato Salad

From Will Cook for Smiles

http://www.willcookforsmiles.com/2014/06/parmesan-dill-potato-salad.html

Potato Salad

Potato Salad

                It’s August and we’ve hit the last stretch of summer. I feel like this summer has just flown by; there hasn’t been a lot of time for summer picnics or lazy days. The only ones who had any lazy days are Tchai and Zelda!

With summer is winding down, fall and college football are also fast approaching. That means switching those picnics into tailgating feasts. I know that my mom and dad are already planning for Georgia Bulldog home games (Go Dawgs!).  So in honor of that summer to fall transition, I’ve decided to try a potato salad recipe for the blog.

                Most people have a preference for either potato or pasta salad. To be honest, I’m not sure I have any sort of leaning. I am both a big fan of the spud and any sort of pasta, but I chose to go with potato salad because I can remember one gracing the table of my family’s UGA tailgate.

                Pinterest led me to this Will cook for Smiles parmesan dill potato salad. It had an appealing ingredient list which featured dill. I really love the tang of dill; it may be one of my favorite herbs. Add in onion, parmesan cheese, and sour cream and this recipe sounded like it would be perfect.

The potatoes pre-boiled

The potatoes pre-boiled

                Boiling the potatoes (I used 5) takes around 20 -25 minutes and then they need to be cooled so that you can handle them. I think the potatoes came down to room temperature in about 1 & 1/2 or 2 hours. I suggest leaving the spuds in a strainer while you tackle another project (or watch a Midsomer Murders episode 😉 ). I found the skins difficult to work with, so I removed them before cutting up the potatoes and assembling the dressing.

                  Putting the sour cream/mayo dressing together is super quick. I didn’t have any green onion in the house so I substituted some baby red onions I purchased at the farmer’s market. I really like the sharp flavor of red onion and think it may actually be better suited for this than the green.

The sour cream/ mayo dressing without the potatoes

The sour cream/ mayo dressing without the potatoes

                The recipe calls for salt and pepper but doesn’t give any actual measurements. I would suggest seasoning the salad pretty liberally, especially with the pepper. The mayonnaise and pepper are the only ingredients in the recipe that counter balance the super tangy flavor of the sour cream, dill, and Dijon mustard.

The salad combined

The salad combined

                I made the potato salad after dinner and placed it directly into the fridge to cool and let the flavors comingle. When I ate it for lunch the next day, I was pleased to find the potato salad not too tangy and actually really scrumptious. My boss also tried the salad and liked it, though she said it could’ve used some sort of pickle. I also sent a container with Chris for some of his coworkers. They thought there was way too much dill in the salad. Thinking back on the dressing assembly, I probably had a heavy hand with the dill since I love it so much. So this potato salad may not be for everyone. I would definitely enjoy having it again as is, but I also think using rosemary instead of dill might be equally fantastic.

My lunch portion (now devoured) of Parmesan Dill goodness

My lunch portion (now devoured) of Parmesan Dill goodness

Leave a Reply

