Tomato Soup: A 2 Cats Recipe

Standard

 

Tomato Soup

mmmmm a bowl of perfection

mmmmm a bowl of perfection

My recipe card, its gone through some alterations

My recipe card, its gone through some alterations

To me, tomato soup is a pretty perfect meal. It’s good in the summer as a refreshing lunch with salad or in the winter piping hot with an oozy grilled cheese for dinner. It’s simple, inexpensive to make, and has become one of my go-to meals. I developed my own tomato soup recipe while at college in South Georgia.  There was a month or two after it was perfected where I made a batch once a week, I loved it so much. I probably would’ve made soup for that entire semester if my roommate hadn’t asked me to lay off it for a while. (She also was eating the soup every week I made it and said after 6 weeks she was burnt out on tomatoes)

DSC08759

His and Her bowls of soup. Chris has the cheesey bowl, I have the fresh thyme

I have yet to meet anyone who doesn’t enjoy tomato soup. It’s one of the meals Chris gets excited about when I tell him it’s on the menu. I think one reason it’s a crowd pleaser is that you can add so many different toppings to the soup and enjoy the outcome. My usually topping is parmesan cheese, but I’ve done bacon, sour cream, and herbs all with great success. At some point, I’d like to go the elementary school route and put Goldfish crackers on top of my tomato soup. 😀

 

As odd as it sounds, tomato soup was the gateway into regular home cooking for me. Making this soup made me realize how easy it was to cook my own food in an hour or less. I felt so empowered by coming up with my own recipe that I wanted to share it with everyone. I hope you try making this work week appropriate meal and find it pretty perfect too!

An action shot; me using my handy-dandy immersion blender

An action shot; me using my handy-dandy immersion blender

Tomato Soup

The ingredients set out all   food stylist-y

The ingredients set out all food stylist-y

(makes 4 -5 servings)
4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
3 Carrots, chopped
4 Celery stalks, chopped
3 garlic cloves, lightly minced
5 Tablespoons All-Purpose Flour
4 Cups Chicken Broth
1 Can (28 Ounces) Crushed Tomatoes
½ Tablespoon Dried Thyme
Salt and Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
¾ Cup Heavy Cream

Heat olive oil over medium heat in large stockpot. Add carrots, celery, and garlic and cook for 7-8 minutes. Stir in flour and cook until the flour is no longer raw, about 2 -3 minutes. Pour in broth and crushed tomatoes and mix thoroughly. Bring to a boil and season with a pinch of salt, red pepper flakes, and dried thyme. Cover the pot, lower heat to medium low and simmer for 20 – 25 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once the mixture has cooked, blend it in batches in a regular blender or in the stockpot with an immersion blender. Return the mixture to the pot (if blending in a stand blender) and mix in the heavy cream. Bring the soup back up to temperature and serve.

Yum!

Yum!

 

3 thoughts on “Tomato Soup: A 2 Cats Recipe

Leave a Reply

