Recipe Review: Broccoli Grape Harvest Salad

Standard

Broccoli Grape Harvest Salad

For the recipe: Jump to Eat Yourself Skinny! 

Lately I’ve been working on taking better care of myself and trying to be a little healthier. I’ve been getting more sleep, taking walks around the neighborhood in the morning, and trying to trade out sugary soda for water. The walking and sleeping have been easy, the giving up soda…not so much. I’ve also been working on trying to eat better, and boy, some days that’s really tough.

Roz's favorite place to nap, Daddy's lap while he's playing video games

Roz’s favorite place to nap, Daddy’s lap while he’s playing video games

While scrolling through my Pinterest boards looking for a new meal to try, I came upon a Broccoli Grape Salad from Eat Yourself Skinny. I thought this recipe sounded scrumptious and not too bad for my health. Broccoli is full of vitamin C, red onion has plenty of B6 and pecans have both magnesium and protein.  I did substitute sugar for stevia, regular bacon (but only 4 strips) for the turkey kind, and full fat mayonnaise for the light version. I already had those ingredients on hand and didn’t want to pick up the others. And let’s face it, light mayo is an abomination to a girl from South Georgia. I guess can’t be completely well behaved where calories are concerned. 🙂

the washed broccoli

the washed broccoli

Mmm grapes

Mmm grapes

There are several prep steps that can be done simultaneously. I cooked the bacon while I chopped the broccoli and toasted the pecans while cooking the pasta. Because of my multitasking, putting the salad together only took about 30 minutes.

The Mayo/Yogurt dressing with the chopped pecans and red onion

The Mayo/Yogurt dressing with the chopped pecans and red onion

I am not normally a huge fan of cold pasta salads, but I really love this one. The tang of the red wine vinegar perfectly offsets the sweetness from the grapes. The red onion adds a peppery sort of crunch to the salad, which I craved. And though broccoli is a go-to vegetable here in the 2 Cats house, I think this may be one of the best uses for broccoli I have found. I can’t say I’ve ever found a recipe that makes raw broccoli delicious. I liked this salad so much that I chose to eat it for lunch and dinner the day I made it.

pasta salad pre-refridgerator.

Going forward this will be my first choice salad for events like barbeques, picnics, and tailgating. I think its kind of perfect, even if it could be a little healthier. I guess I’ll just have to exercise more and maybe start jogging regularly instead of walking….

Workout bench? You mean my nap bench.

Workout bench? You mean my nap bench.

maybe….

One thought on “Recipe Review: Broccoli Grape Harvest Salad

Leave a Reply

