Recipe Review: Sunday Beef Stew

Standard

Sunday Beef Stew

Interested in making this yourself? Here’s the recipe you seek

Me editing the blog, my least favorite thing when it comes to this hobby.

Me editing the blog, my least favorite thing when it                                comes to this hobby.

Dearest readers, my apologies for the lack of blog posts for the last two weeks. I was originally planning to skip a week and then post a long, exciting entry last Thursday about our trip to Las Vegas….but that didn’t happen. I’d start working on the post and then I’d get hopelessly stuck every time. I couldn’t write more than two paragraphs at a time before getting frustrated and scraping my draft. Eventually I decided to abandon the post and move on.  I’d love some tips from all my fellow bloggers on how they push through their writers block so that I don’t get stuck like this again.

 

 Anyway, back to the post at hand.  Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! Today we celebrate the Irish, the color green, and public intoxication (Ok that’s more New York City than North Carolina, but still!) We in the 2 Cats household have another reason to celebrate on March 17th; it’s my beloved’s birthday! It’s comforting to know that on his birthday Chris will never have to drink alone.

The main players of this Sunday Stew

The main players of this Sunday Stew

In honor of these grand occasions, I turned to my favorite redhead for an appropriately festive recipe. I settled on the Pioneer Woman’s Sunday beef stew. I really love stews; they bubble away in or on top of the stove for several hours and always make the house smell amazing. I think they’re great for company because they make everyone feel welcomed and at home. This recipe was no exception and actually I did make it on a Sunday (though just for two). Not a lot of labor that goes into this stew; a little searing, some chopping and then 2 and a half hours of simmering away while I moved on to the huge pile of laundry upstairs.

mmmm searing beef

mmmm searing beef

The supporting players in this stew are diced carrots and turnips. To be honest, I don’t think I’d ever eaten a turnip before. I was always afraid they’d be super bitter and unappealing like the greens, boy was I wrong! The turnips were a little peppery and starchy and I loved them. That radish-like bite was the perfect balance for the sweetness of the carrot. When we were grocery shopping for the recipe Chris tried to get me to leave out the turnips but I said we should try them. I think he was also a turnip convert because I don’t remember any complaints about them once he started eating.

The diced veggies.

The diced veggies.

The stew was hearty and meaty and hit all those good comfort food notes. I’m not 100% sure but I think that I didn’t get the stew up to a simmer as quickly as I was supposed to and therefor not as much stock evaporated leaving a lot more liquid in my pot than in Ree’s. It didn’t matter because everything was cooked through and delicious. I enjoyed it so much that I went back for seconds, which is a big deal for me.

It seems turnips float....

It seems turnips float….

  To make the meal even more comforting, I served mashed potatoes under the beef stew. I didn’t use the recipe that went along with Ree’s post because Chris is anti-cream cheese. The starchy goodness adds another level of richness and depth to the whole bowl of food. As I was eating I realized this whole thing is an upside down shepherd’s pie! And really, what could be better on a Sunday Night, St. Patrick’s Day, or your fiancée’s birthday than that?

The final stew served over some yummy mashed potatoes

The final stew served over some yummy mashed potatoes

This picture isn't relevant to the post in anyway. Rosalind has this habit of sitting upon anything on our dining room table, I'm not sure why...but this was too cute to pass up.

This picture isn’t relevant to the post in anyway except that it took place on the day I made the stew. Rosalind has this habit of sitting upon anything on our dining room table, I’m not sure why…but this was too cute to pass up.

3 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Sunday Beef Stew

Leave a Reply

