Slow Cooker Chili: A 2 Cats Recipe

Standard

Slow Cooker Chili

 

It’s been really cold for the past two weeks in North Carolina. Being raised in South Georgia, I am not a fan of being cold. There are six blankets currently on our bed and I rely on my two furry space heaters to stay warm throughout the night. The only time I find winter weather acceptable is when there’s snow, unfortunately there’s only been dreary wind, rain and the occasional bit of sleet. I was slightly hoping for a small portion of “Snowmaggedon” to make its way down to us but alas, no such luck. The only solution for weather this miserable is warm, hearty comfort food.  My choice for this week (since it’s the Superbowl time of year) is my very own slow cooker chili.

Chili, after cooking 8 hours (and Chris getting home first)

I can’t remember eating a lot chili before meeting Chris. As I’ve stated in previous posts, my sweetheart is a lover of red meat, so I’ve adapted my diet to be more carnivorous. Chili should be cooked for a long time to let the flavors develop and deepen, which is why a slow cooker is ideal for this meal.  Can I just take a moment to say how much I love my slow cooker? This one piece of culinary equipment has made my life so much easier.  I teach fairly late one night a week and that evening’s meals are pretty much always made in the slow cooker.

Ingredients shot

I’ve adapted this recipe from one I found on myrecipies.com. I really like the simplicity of just meat, a few veggies, and beans. I used a red bell pepper to add more sweetness & crispness which I think goes really well with the sharpness of the canned tomatoes. The longer it simmers, the better the chili becomes (and it’s really yummy the next day). Chris calls this recipe perfect, which is amazing; since I can’t remember the last meal he praised that highly. I top my chili with shredded cheese, sour cream and sriracha while Chris loads his up with cheese and frito’s (or crackers if frito’s are not available).

After a bowl or two of this chili, I think you’ll be ready for any winter activity; ice hockey, snow sledding, or (if there’s still been no snow) cuddling in front of a good movie at home.

 my bowl of goodness

 

Slow Cooker Chili

(serves 6)

1 – 1.25 LB Ground Beef (I use Sirloin)

1 Red Bell Pepper, diced

2 Garlic Cloves, minced

½ Sweet Onion, diced

2 Cans Dark Red Kidney Beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans Diced Tomatoes

3 Tablespoons Medium Heat Chili Powder

1 Teaspoon Cumin

1 Teaspoon Salt

½ Teaspoon Black Pepper

Cook ground beef, bell pepper, garlic and onion in a skillet until the beef is cooked through. Meanwhile, add beans, tomatoes, chili powder, cumin, salt and pepper in to the slow cooker. Once the beef is cooked add the skillet contents to the slow cooker. Mix everything together and cook the chili on low for at least 6 hours, 8 or 9 is better. Serve with your favorite toppings

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Slow Cooker Chili: A 2 Cats Recipe

Leave a comment